Skip to main content

Office of Human Resources

Tuition Scholarship for Dependents - Pilot Program Process Florida State University:

As part of a one-year pilot program, Florida State University is providing dependent children of full-time faculty and staff employees an opportunity to obtain tuition assistance for an undergraduate education at FSU by way of a scholarship.

The Office of Human Resources will accept applications for the 2018-2019 academic year and will choose at random from a pool of eligible applicants, selecting dependent children as scholarship recipients for qualified faculty members and staff employees. For each dependent child selected, the University will provide $630.42 per semester towards the cost of undergraduate tuition for fall and spring.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Full-time faculty and staff who have completed one year of continuous service by August 7, 2018, including faculty members on sabbaticals or on professional development or grants-in-aid leave, are qualifying University employees whose dependent(s) are eligible for the Tuition Scholarship Program for Dependents.

  • For the purposes of this program, a "dependent" is any natural, adopted, or stepchild of the employee, or any other child for whom the employee is a legal guardian, under the age of 25 as of the first day of classes for the semester. Also considered a dependent for purposes of this program are children over age 25 who are natural, adopted, or step children, or any other child for whom the employee is a legal guardian as long as the employee's federal tax return indicates the child is a dependent or as long as the employee pays 50% of that child's support, as defined by the Internal Revenue Code. Special circumstances that suggest consideration of a case not fitting the above definition of "dependent" should be presented to the Chief Human Resources Officer.

  • A dependent child must meet the admission standards of Florida State University, must be admitted to Florida State, and must be seeking an undergraduate degree in order to qualify for the tuition scholarship. In order to receive the scholarship, students must currently be in good academic standing, as defined by the University Registrar.

  • An undergraduate dependent must take at least 15 credit hours per semester, including the scholarship program hours. In the event the 15-hour requirement is unreasonable or unnecessary, the scholarship recipient can petition his or her academic dean for an exception and if approved, the scholarship will remain available to the recipient. This exception request is semester-based and if approved, pertain only to specific semester for which the petition was submitted.

In order to be placed in the scholarship drawing, the following must be submitted to the Office of Human Resources no later than the close of business by the application deadline.

  1. Completed Scholarship Application signed by both the employee and the student. The official application form is available here: Employee Dependent Scholarship-Application.
  2. Applications must be submitted with the following supporting documentation or will be considered incomplete.
    Note: Personal information will be kept confidential to the fullest extent allowed by law.
    • a. Dependent eligibility: The documents required to verify each type of employee/dependent relationship are outlined below:
      • i. Biological child - Government-issued birth certificate identifying the employee as the student's parent.
        ii. Adopted child - Finalized adoption records or an adoption placement agreement.
        iii. Step Child - Proof of marriage, AND records showing that the dependent is the employee's spouse's biological or adopted child. iv. Ward - Records showing legal guardianship or court-ordered custody.
    Proof of legal guardianship and/or dependency can also include:
    • v. A copy of the employee's most recent federal tax return for dependent children over age 25; or
      vi. A copy of the employee's Immigration documents, if applicable.
    b. If applicable, an official notification from the academic dean that the undergraduate dependent's petition for an exception to the 15-hour course load requirement has been approved.

After recipients are selected, the Office of Student Business Services will process the scholarship and the total amount will be posted to the student's account by close of business on the fifth day of class.

Scholarship recipients will be awarded $630.42 per semester towards the cost of tuition for the 2018 Fall semester and the 2019 Spring semester pending the following:

  • Continuation of the tuition scholarship is contingent upon remaining in good academic standing (undergraduate GPA of 2.0 or higher) as certified by the University Registrar. Students on warning, probation, dismissal or reinstated from dismissal-while eligible to enroll-may not be eligible for the scholarship until their GPA returns to a 2.0 or higher.
  • A dependent child loses their eligibility if a Student Code of Conduct violation results in their expulsion, suspension, expulsion from residence halls, or involuntary withdrawal.

Financial Obligations:

The University will award scholarship recipients $630.42 per semester (the equivalent matriculation fee for six undergraduate credit hours) in both the fall and spring of the 2018-2019 academic year. However, scholarship recipients are responsible for all other fees, including those related to books, supplies, building, capital improvement, student financial aid, activity and service, athletic, health, transportation, etc.

Questions regarding the application process and employee eligibility should be forwarded to the Office of Human Resources at dependent-scholarship@fsu.edu. Scholarship recipients with questions regarding their student financial account should contact the Office of Student Business Services at (850) 644-9452.