Dependents and Spouses Scholarship Program

Tuition Scholarship Program for Dependents and Spouses Florida State University:

As one of the many additional benefits available for qualified employees, the University is continuing the Tuition Scholarship Program for Dependents and Spouses. Florida State University is providing dependent children or spouses of full-time faculty and staff with a scholarship opportunity to obtain tuition assistance for an undergraduate or graduate education at FSU.

The Office of Human Resources is now accepting applications for the 2024-2025 academic year. A limited number of dependent children and spouses of qualified faculty and staff will be chosen randomly from a pool of eligible applicants. For each dependent child or spouse selected, the University will provide $630.42 per semester towards the cost of undergraduate tuition or $2,421.06 per semester towards the cost of graduate tuition for Fall and Spring of the 2024-2025 academic year.

Please note that unless sufficient funds are available, applications beginning in Fall will be given priority. In addition, at the time of application, employees seeking more than one scholarship should indicate whether the first dependent/spouse is pursuing undergraduate or graduate hours, and the applicant that should get priority. Additional scholarships will be allocated if the pool has not been depleted. If the pool is depleted, there will be no additional scholarships beyond one per faculty or staff member.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Qualifying University employees whose dependent(s) or spouse are eligible for the Tuition Scholarship Program for Dependents and Spouses include salaried full-time faculty and staff who have completed one year of continuous service by August 6, 2024, including faculty members on sabbatical, professional development leave, or grants-in-aid leave.
  • For the purposes of this program, a “dependent” is any natural, adopted, or stepchild of the employee or any other child for whom the employee is a legal guardian under the age of 24 as of the first day of classes for the semester. Also considered a dependent for purposes of this program are children over age 25 who are natural, adopted, stepchildren, or any other child for whom the employee is a legal guardian as long as the employee's federal tax return indicates the child is a dependent or that the employee pays 50% of that child’s support, as defined by the Internal Revenue Code. Special circumstances that suggest consideration of a case not fitting the above definition of "dependent" should be presented to the Chief Human Resources Officer.
  • For purposes of this program, “spouse” refers to a faculty member’s legally-recognized marriage partner.
  • The scholarship is limited to academic courses, and the following are ineligible: Remedial math (i.e., MAT1033); Applied music; Graduate courses in the College of Medicine and College of Law; Physical Education Activity courses; Dissertation, thesis, directed individual study (DIS), internship, supervised research, supervised teaching, exam, portfolio, or other one-on-one courses; audited courses; Center for Academic and Professional Development courses; and, all non-state funded courses or sections (including some distance learning courses that are funded solely by student tuition and fees).
  • A graduate dependent or spouse is ineligible for the scholarship if currently employed on a graduate assistantship and receiving a full tuition waiver.
  • A dependent child or spouse must meet the admission standards of Florida State University and be admitted to Florida State, seeking an undergraduate or graduate degree to qualify for the tuition scholarship. In order to receive the scholarship, students must currently be in good academic standing as defined by the University Registrar.
  • An undergraduate dependent must take at least 15 credit hours per semester, including the scholarship program hours. In the event that the 15-hour requirement is unreasonable or unnecessary, the scholarship recipient can petition their academic dean for an exception. If approved, the scholarship will remain available to the recipient. A graduate dependent or spouse must take at least 9 credit hours per term, including the scholarship program hours. In the event the 9-hour requirement is unreasonable or unnecessary, the scholarship recipient can petition the academic dean or equivalent in their college/school for an “underload,” and if approved, the scholarship will remain available to the recipient. This exception request is semester-based and, if approved, pertains only to the specific semester for which the petition was submitted.

Application:

To be placed in the scholarship drawing, the following must be submitted to the Office of Human Resources no later than the close of business by the application deadline:

  1. Completed Scholarship Application signed by both the employee and the student. The official application form is available here: Employee Dependent Scholarship-Application.

Applications must be submitted with the following supporting documentation or will be considered incomplete. Note: Personal information will be kept confidential to the fullest extent allowed by law.

    1. Documentation of dependent or spouse eligibility:

The documents required to verify each type of employee/dependent relationship are outlined below:

      1. Biological child - Government-issued birth certificate identifying the employee as the student's parent.
      2. Adopted child - Finalized adoption records or an adoption placement agreement.
      3. Stepchild - Proof of marriage AND records showing that the dependent is the employee's spouse's biological or adopted child.
      4. Ward - Records showing legal guardianship or court-ordered custody.

Proof of legal guardianship and/or dependency can also include the following:

      1. A copy of the employee's most recent federal tax return for dependent children over age 25; or
      2. A copy of the employee's Immigration documents, if applicable.
      3. Spouse Eligibility: A valid marriage license
         
    1. If applicable, an official notification from the academic dean that the undergraduate or graduate dependents or spouse’s petition for an exception to the 15 or 9-hour course load requirement has been approved.

The Office of Student Business Services will process the scholarship and post it to the student’s FSU bill by close of business on the fifth day of class.

Undergraduate scholarship recipients will be awarded $630.42 per semester, and graduate scholarship recipients will be awarded $2,421.06 per semester towards the cost of tuition for the 2024 Fall semester and the 2025 Spring semester pending the following:

  • Continuation of the tuition scholarship is contingent upon remaining in good academic standing (undergraduate GPA of 2.0 or higher) as certified by the University Registrar. Students on warning, probation, dismissal, or reinstated from dismissal, while eligible to enroll, may not qualify for the scholarship until their GPA returns to a 2.0 or higher.
  • A dependent child or spouse loses their eligibility if a Student Code of Conduct violation results in their expulsion, suspension, expulsion from residence halls, or involuntary withdrawal.

Financial Obligations:

The University will award undergraduate scholarship recipients $630.42 per semester (the equivalent matriculation fee for six undergraduate credit hours) or graduate scholarship recipients $2,421.06 (the equivalent matriculation fee for six graduate credit hours) in both the Fall and Spring of the 2024-2025 academic year. However, scholarship recipients are responsible for all other fees, including those related to books, supplies, buildings, capital improvement, student financial aid, activity and service, athletics, health, transportation, etc.

Questions regarding the application process and employee eligibility should be forwarded to the Office of Human Resources at dependent-scholarship@fsu.edu. Scholarship recipients with questions regarding their student financial account should contact the Office of Student Business Services at (850) 644-9452.