Reminder 2021 Minimum Wage Increase
This message has been approved by Shelley Lopez, Program Director, Communications/Special Projects, for distribution to all Department Representatives.
This is a reminder that effective January 1, 2021, the new Florida minimum hourly rate is $8.65. Accordingly, all employers are required to pay employees at least the new minimum rate of $8.65 an hour, or $5.63 plus tips for tipped employees.
As a result, the current State Labor Law Poster needs to be updated. We ask that you remove the old poster (or the section of the All-in-One poster) and replace it with the new “Notice to Employers, Minimum Wage In Florida” poster. All other Labor Law Posters are not affected and should remain posted in conspicuous locations that are accessible to all employees. Please use the link provided above to print a copy of the updated version and post it in the same area as your other Federal and State Labor Law Posters immediately.
Employee actions with an effective date of January 1, 2021, or after should be appointed at the new hourly rate. All OPS employees making less than $8.65 an hour will be systematically increased in OMNI HR.
Questions? For questions regarding the minimum wage increase, please contact Abigail Lejeune at firstname.lastname@example.org or (850) 644-6470. For questions regarding Federal/State Labor Law posting obligations, please contact Equity, Diversity & Inclusion at EDI@fsu.edu or (850) 644-7950.